Vinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo SliderVinaora Nivo Slider
Divine puja's during Navratri

Divine puja's during Navratri

Hindu Mythology classics like Shrimad Devi Bhagwat and Shri Durgasaptshati profusely mentions the significance of Devi puja during the Navratri. According to Surya Puraan, the one who worships Goddess during this period is blessed with all kinds of virtues and all his sins are forgiven.

In Shiv Puraan talking about importance of Goddess, Lord Shiva says that he is Shav(meaning Dead) without the powers of Shakti (his wife and the ultimate source of energy). In other words, we can say that even God is motionless, absolutely changeless without the divine support of Maa Durga.

On the first three days, the Mother is invoked as powerful force called Durga in order to destroy all our impurities, vices and defects. The next three days, the Mother is adored as a giver of spiritual wealth- Lakshmi who is considered to have the power of bestowing on her devotees the inexhaustible wealth. The final set of three days is spent in worshipping the mother as the goddess of wisdom, Saraswati. In order have all-round success in life, we need the blessings of all three aspects of the divine mother; hence, the worship for nine nights.

Durga Saptshati path and Homa are performed during Navratri. Durga Saptasati consists of 13 Chapters and more than 700 slokas or mantras. Reading of these shloka's is known as Durga Saptshati path. On the 9th day Homa or yagna is performed.

The Nine Days of Navratri 2013

Each of the nine days of Navratri has special significance. Each day is dedicated to a particular Goddess who is worshipped on that day.

Day One of Navratri 2013 - October 5 (Saturday)
The first day is dedicated to the Goddess 'Shailputri', the daughter of the Himalayas. She is a form of Shakti, the companion of Lord Shiva.

Day Two of Navratri 2013 - October 6 (Sunday)
The second day is dedicated to the Goddess 'Brahmacharini'. The name is derivative of the word 'Brahma', which means 'Tapa' or penace. She is also a form of Mata Shakti.

Day Three of Navratri 2013 - October 7 (Monday)
The third day is dedicated to the goddess 'Chandraghanta', the symbolic representation of beauty and bravery.

Day Four of Navratri 2013 - October 8 (Tuesday)
The fourth day is dedicated to the goddess 'Kushmanda', the creator of the entire Universe.

Day Five of Navratri 2013 - October 9 (Wednesday)
The fifth day is dedicated to the Goddess 'Skand Mata', the mother of the chief warrior of the Gods army, the Skanda.

Day Six of Navratri 2013 - October 10 (Thursday)
The sixth day is dedicated to the goddess 'Katyayani' with three eyes and four hands.

Day Seven of Navratri 2013 - October 11 (Friday)
The seventh day is dedicated to the Goddess 'Kalratri', meant to make the devotees fearless.

Day Eight of Navratri 2013 - October 12 (Saturday)
The eight day is dedicated to the Mata Rani or 'Maha Gauri' representing calmness and exhibits wisdom.

Day Nine of Navratri 2013 - October 13 (Sunday)
The ninth day is dedicated to Durga also referred as 'Siddhidatri'. It is believed that she has all the eight siddhis and is worshipped by all the Rishis and Yogis.

muslunkar flash
teachers flash
nisarg flash1


















Copyright © 2011 Townparle © All Rights Reserved

Developed by Tech Rational

Powered by Analytics for Joomla